St Comghan's Church is the Old Parish Church at Kilchoan and burial ground which overlooks the village of Kilchoan and Kilchoan Bay. The church and burial ground are surrounded by a drystone wall. Although much of the roofless building dates from 18th century it incorporates part of an earlier medieval church ( 12th or 13th century). It is believed that this church replaced a much early one. The walls are constructed of random rubble with a sandstone dressing. The Church was dedicated to the Irish monk St Comghan (Comgan, Chomhghain), who established many churches on his travels in the Highlands and Islands after his exile.
The importance of the church to the local community is reflected in the Gaelic name for the village Cille Chòmhain (Kilchoan). The church was later abandoned and fell into disrepair. It was replaced by a new building in 1831 in a location nearby.
There is an interpretation board in front of the Old Parish Church detailing the history of the church.
Take time to explore the church and the adjacent graveyard. Although most of the stones in the graveyard date from 19th century, a few older slabs are evident, including two decorated stones dating from the 14th or 15th century.